All Children's Hospital Logo

Related Links

Search Health Information   

Milk Allergy Diet

General guidelines for milk allergy:

The key to an allergy-free diet is to avoid giving your child the foods or products containing the food he/she is allergic to. The items that your child is allergic to are called allergens.

A milk allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in cow's milk. Milk allergy is most common among infants and young children. Milk and milk products are found in many foods. Obvious forms of milk are cream, cheese, butter, ice cream, and yogurt. Milk and milk products may also be hidden sources in commonly eaten foods. In order to avoid foods that contain milk products, it is necessary to read food labels.

Important information about avoiding milk and milk products:

FOODS

ALLOWED

NOT ALLOWED

Beverages Carbonated beverages

Coffee

Tea

Soy substitute-milk formulas, water

Fruit drinks

All milks (whole, low-fat, skim, buttermilk, evaporated, condensed, powdered, hot cocoa)

Yogurt, eggnog, milkshakes, malts

All beverages made with milk or milk products

Breads Milk free breads

French bread

Wheat, white, rye, corn, graham, gluten, and soy breads made without milk or milk products

Graham cracker or rice wafers

Wheat, white, or rye breads

Biscuits, donuts, muffins, pancakes, waffles, zwieback, crackers, saltines, rusk

Most commercially prepared breads and rolls contain milk or milk products

French toast made with milk

Cereals Any cereal to which no milk or milk products have been added High protein cereals

Prepared and precooked cereals with milk solids, casein, or other milk products added

Desserts Meringue, gelatin, popsicles, fruit ice, fruit whip, angel food cake

Cakes, cookies, and pie crusts made without milk or milk products

Cake, cookies, custard, pudding, cream desserts, or sherbet containing milk products

Ice cream, cream pie

Pastries brushed with milk, junket, popover

Eggs Prepared without milk Scrambled with milk, creamed eggs, egg substitutes
Fats Vegetable oil, meat fat, lard, bacon, shortening, milk free gravy

Peanut butter (made without milk solids)

Margarine without milk solids

Kosher margarine

Butter, cream, margarine

Salad dressing or mayonnaise containing milk, milk solids, or milk products

Some butter substitutes and non-dairy creamers

Fruits Fresh, frozen, or canned fruits and juices Any served with milk, butter, or cream
Meats, Fish, Poultry, & Cheese Baked, broiled, boiled, roasted or fried: beef, veal, pork, chicken, turkey, lamb, fish, organ meats, or tofu (prepared without milk or milk products)

Sausage, deli/luncheon meats, or ham if made without milk products

All cheese, cottage cheese, cream cheese

Some sausage products, bologna, frankfurters

Breaded meats, meatloaf, croquettes, casseroles, hamburgers (unless made without milk)

Commercial entrees made with milk or milk solids

Potatoes & Substitutes Macaroni, noodles, spaghetti, rice

White or sweet potatoes prepared without milk, butter, cream, or allowed margarine

Au gratin, buttered, creamed, scalloped potato or substitutes

Macaroni and cheese

Mashed potatoes containing milk or butter

Frozen french fries sprayed with lactose

Soups Bouillon, broth, consommé or soups with broth base plain or with all allowed foods Bisques, chowders, creamed soups

All soups made with milk or milk products

Sweets Corn syrup, honey, jam, jelly

Hard candy, candy made without milk or milk products

Granulated, brown or powdered sugar

Candy made with milk such as chocolate, fudge, caramels, nougat
Vegetables All fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables without milk or milk products added

All vegetable juices

Au gratin, buttered, creamed, or escalloped vegetables

Batter and dipped vegetables

Vegetable souffles

Miscellaneous Catsup, olives, pickles, nuts, herbs, chili powder, salt, spices, condiments

Any foods that are milk/ cheese/butter free or that do not contain powdered milk or whey

All items containing milk, cheese, butter, whey casein, caseinates, hydrolysates, lactose, lactalbumin, lactoglobulin or milk solids, artificial butter flavor

Non-dairy substitutes containing caseinate

How to read a label for a milk-free diet:

Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:

Other possible sources of milk or milk products:

Click here to view the
Online Resources of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology


Related Information

Asthma Info
Health Library

Additional Info

Pocket Doc Mobile App
Maps and Locations (Mobile)
Programs & Services
Employment
For Health Professionals
For Patients & Families
Contact Us
Find a Doctor
News
CME

All Children's Hospital
501 6th Ave South
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
(727) 898-7451
(800) 456-4543

Use Normal Template
© 2014 All Children's Hospital - All Rights Reserved