General News
Posted December 14, 2011
Schools Saluted For Safety
Starkey Elementary PTA member Stephanie Laney with Judge Karl Grube and PTA President Tiffany Davies

All Children's Hospital, the Florida Suncoast Safe Kids Coalition and the Safe Routes to School program recently recognized schools that participated in this year's Walk to School event. The Judge Karl Grube Extra Mile Award was presented to Starkey Elementary PTA President Tiffany Davies and PTA member Stephanie Laney during a reception on December 1 at All Children's Hospital.

Starkey Elementary has been involved in promoting pedestrian safety and walking school bus efforts for the past three years. Award winners are chosen each year by the Suncoast Safe Kids Bicycle Pedestrian Committee. The award is named for Judge Karl Grube, a long-time supporter of injury prevention efforts in Pinellas County.

Other award winners included:

· Anona Elementary - innovative safety promotion
· San Jose Elementary - community partnerships for safety
· Fairmont Park Elementary - rookie of the year